Day 69 – May 7, 2010

So my mom called me on my lunch break and said she had found a baby crib with matching drawers that she thought I’d like. Apparently one of her friends called her while she was at work today and told her he had passed a yardsale with a nice sleigh bed baby crib. She went and checked it out and liked it. She sent me a picture of it and of course I loved it (I’m a sucker for the sleigh bed design). Anyways, this is what they look like:

I just think they are so so pretty. It feels great to have something so big checked off of my list this early (thanks to my Granny B & Mom). Obviously, we’ll have to buy a new mattress, but other than that, the crib is pretty much taken care of…yay!

Now, I may be getting a little ahead of myself here, but I’ve already picked out a room design for a girl (if that’s what we have). Most of you know, I’m somewhat of a tomboy. I HATE the color pink. Hate it, hate it, hate it. Well…not all pink, just the typical baby pastel pink. I just think it’s hideous. I hate all pastels for that matter. Anyways, I already had my mind set that if I had a girl, I was painting her room blue! Not “boy” blue, but more of a teal blue. I don’t like the idea of girls and boys having to have “certain” colors. I think this really stems from me not liking being told what to do, or what I should do. Someone says I should have a pink room for a girl, well of course I’m going to paint it blue. Now I would never put my boy in pink, but why does blue have to be off limits for a girl?! That’s my favorite color! I don’t automatically think boy when I see blue. Pink is really the only color that my mind has assigned a gender to.

So yeah…I had my mind set on painting Martian baby’s room blue whether it was a girl or boy. Most people have given me crap about it whenever I’ve mentioned it. I actually began to feel like some sort of freak because I wanted a blue room (this isn’t really a new feeling to me…I feel like a freak quite often). Well, today I found something amazing that I love and it just so happens to be PINK. It’s strange that I love it, but I really really do.

With all that being said, if we have a girl, this is how I want her room to look:

I love Etsy. It solves all my problems. If I do this design, I’ll probably end up painting my furniture white, but that shouldn’t be a problem. I’m excited that I’ve found something girlie that I’m happy with! Now I just need to show it to Benji – ha!

3 thoughts on “Day 69 – May 7, 2010

  1. Nicole says:

    LOVE the design (you and I are the same with pink) and I LOVE the bed, but I really love the dresser!

    Congrats on getting that off your list 😉

  2. kristy says:

    attention: we have the same brain. but you knew that. Im totally getting vinyl wall decals off etsy too! I just need to find a dinosaur or something non-flowery for Ryder’s side.

    I LOVE the crib! Thats so great they got it at a yard sale!

    LOve you!!

  3. april says:

    ashley!!!! that crib and dresser thing is so so so SOOO cute!!!! im in love with it! and im in love with the design for the room too! let me know when i can com help! love you. and i just got way way excited.

Leave a Reply

