Day 100 – June 7, 2010

Today is my first day at work in maternity pants – so far, so good. They are way comfortable, but also a little itchy. I don’t understand why they are itchy, because they are cotton, but they sure as heck have made my stomach itch.

This past weekend was a lot of fun! Benji and I stayed with Regina and her husband at Smith Lake. I don’t really know how to refer to Regina. If you’re a close friend, you’ve probably either heard of her, or met her. Regina used to be married to my dad, so technically, she’s my ex-stepmother.  I don’t like to call her that though, because that gives the impression that she’s not involved in my life anymore, and she definitely is! She’s more of a second mother to me. She was there for most of my childhood and is still around now…even though my dad hasn’t been, for the most part.

As a child, I was blessed by the fact that she and my mother got along. They are actually still friends to this day. It might be a bit strange to an outsider, but for me, it’s just normal and I’m thankful for that. How many people can say that their mom and stepmother actually LIKE each other? I’m glad they made an effort to get along and to develop a relationship, because it would be hard on me if they hadn’t.

I say all that just so you’ll know that when I mention Regina, she’s more than just a friend or an ex-stepmother. She’s someone who is very important to me, but I just can’t figure out what to call her nowadays…LOL.

So anyways, we spent the weekend with Regina and her husband. We had a blast. Our time mainly consisted of swimming and boating. There were more activities for Benji because he got to do fun things on the water (like tubing). I was so envious that I couldn’t go tubing. I love tubing, but alas, I must protect baby Martian! Next summer though…I will be on that tube!!!!

I recently decided that I wanted Regina to be in the delivery room when baby Martian is born. This weekend I asked her if she’d like to be there and she of course said yes! So…it will officially be me (duh!), Benji, my mom, and Regina…all in one room, when the baby arrives. It should be pretty fun!

That’s all I’ve got.

4 thoughts on “Day 100 – June 7, 2010

  1. Beth says:

    OMG………….. you may not be able to stand the two of us being in there all crying and stuff. We will be two blubbering goofs!

  2. Beth says:

    Oh yeah, I forgot to say I bet it isn’t your pants that are making you itch. When I started growing my belly started itching and I started getting stretch marks so put some lotion on your tummy every day to try to prevent them.

  3. Katie says:

    I love tubing, but alas, I must protect baby Martian!

    This is my favorite quote of all time…. ever… about any subject! haha!!

    You scratch my belly, I’ll scratch yours…. is that how this friendship thing works???? 🙂 Kidding!

  4. Katie says:

    Hey!!! Delete one of my comments! It told me that the first one didn’t go through… so I tried to re-write what I wrote!

Leave a Reply

