Day 114 – June 21, 2010

I feel like I have a lot to update about.

Hmm…I guess I’ll start with the baby name. Benji and I did what every couple on planet earth does when they get married – we talked about names for our future children. We had a name picked out for either sex, however, when I did eventually get pregnant, I began to doubt whether or not I really liked what we had picked out. We actually had already told family and friends the initial names we had picked out, but after about two months of being pregnant, we ended up choosing a completely different name for a girl. It was such a struggle that we decided to actually wait to find out the sex to decide for sure on a name for a boy. We were certain we were having a girl, so we both assumed picking out a boy name wouldn’t even be necessary.

About a week before the ultrasound, Benji decided that since we were both certain it was a girl, it would probably end up being a boy. I still insisted that it would be a girl, and on Monday of last week, to prove how certain I was of the sex, I made a bet with Benji that he could pick the name if we had a boy. As you all know, I lost the stinkin’ bet. It did end up being a boy.

Although Benji did win the bet, there was one condition. He was not allowed to use a name that I hated. He knew right when we found out that it was a boy what he wanted to name it. He wanted to use the name that we had originally picked out for our son. While I had doubts about it, he had loved the original name all along. It took me about a day, but I finally agreed. Anyways, since we already told the name to friends and family before deciding to keep the name a secret,  we both decided that there really isn’t much point in keeping it a secret now since most people already know it.

So…most of you already know this, but for those that don’t, our son’s name will be Harper Samuel Martin. We will call him Harper. He is being named after Harper Lee (author of “To Kill A Mockingbird”) and after Samuel Martin, Benji’s great grandfather. I also like Samuel because it means “for this child I prayed” which pretty much describes the ten months that we tried to get pregnant – we did indeed pray our butts off and we didn’t stop when we got pregnant!

I’ve been wanting to do something different for the nursery, and since his name will be Harper, I am thinking about making “To Kill A Mockingbird” the theme of the nursery. I am sure that I want to paint the tree from the cover on the wall:

However, I’m not so certain about those colors. I guess this will just be something that Benji and I have to think about. My main concern is having the colors match the crib. I’d really rather not paint the crib.

I know I said I had a lot to update about, but I’ll save the rest for another day. This post is already too long!

2 thoughts on “Day 114 – June 21, 2010

  1. Megg says:

    It’s funny that you picked Harper, because I know someone else who has a girl named Harper, named after Harper Lee too!

    I like those colors, the green and dark orange. I think they aren’t particularly baby-ish, which I think I remember you saying you didn’t want anyway, and they would go well if you ended up staying and keeping him in that room for a long time. (Circus themed nurseries aren’t really all that cool when you’re 6 :P)

    I’m so excited you told the name though!! I was getting impatient wanting to know!

  2. LOVE IT!!!
    1) Harper has ALWAYS been in my top baby names list, because of my fave book- this book!
    2) My next child ( in about 10 years) will be named Harper. Just sayin’. I lost this go round with the girls, but not next time!

    Love you guys.

Leave a Reply

