Day 150 – July 27, 2010

This will have nothing to do with pregnancy, but it’s part of our journey while Harper’s still growing inside of me, so maybe he’ll be interested to read about it someday. Who knows.

We leave tomorrow night for Memphis. AH! The school that we were really hoping would offer Benji a job called him today to cancel their interview with him. Apparently they found someone else. I was a little bit bummed, but he still has three more interviews set up for that day. Hopefully something will come from one of those interviews. This whole time (since about June), I’ve felt in my gut that we’d be moving to Memphis, but maybe I’m wrong. Part of me would be happy if I was wrong. Staying in Tuscaloosa would be so easy.

I want to update about something that I find amazing. Maybe no one else will think this is awesome, but I certainly do! Last week, I contacted the pastor at the Vineyard in Memphis (it’s actually in Collierville, which is a suburb of Memphis). I explained to him that I was probably jumping the gun, but that I wanted some information on his church. I did this because one of my biggest fears about moving is just being alone. Benji will be working during the day, and I’ll be at home by myself. I’ll be working from home, but I’ll still be at home…ALONE! I figured the pastor could give me some information on their small groups and what not, so that we could just jump right in, if we did happen to move. Well, he wrote me back and asked where we were planning on moving. I explained to him that I wasn’t really sure because I know NOTHING about Memphis. Long story short, he had one of his small group leaders who has lived in Memphis his entire life call me. His name is Elliot. He ended up calling yesterday and gave me some great advice on where to look for apartments. The amazing thing though? He invited Benji and me over for dinner after Benji’s interviews on Thursday. I know this may not be a big deal to some people, but I just couldn’t believe it. I mean, Benji and I are complete strangers to this guy and his wife, and here they are inviting us over for dinner. I’m excited about it. I’ve been praying and praying for God to bring people into our lives if we move to Memphis, and here He is already answering that prayer, and we aren’t even there yet. Even if  Benji doesn’t get hired and we end up not going, I am just so encouraged by this! It’s a great reminder that God will provide friendships for us wherever we end up…and I’m not going to be alone 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 150 – July 27, 2010

  1. Nicole says:

    That’s awesome Ash. I got chills reading about Elliot 🙂

  2. so special. Memphis is cool – it would definitely be an adventure!

Leave a Reply

