Prego Update.

Last week I had a little bit of prego drama. On Tuesday I went for my regular weekly check up. I was thinking positive and I just knew that I would be more dilated than the week before – WRONG! I was still only 1cm. Needless to say, I was slightly disappointed. It didn’t take long for disappointment to turn into shock though. Right after examining me, my doctor informed me that I was showing signs of preeclampsia. I had protein in my urine, my blood pressure was sky high and well…you’ve seen the cankles so you know that I was swollen like a mofo. I was very confused because this whole pregnancy my blood pressure has been great! It was just crazy to walk in one day and it be so high. Dr. Smith informed me that he would start seeing me every 2-3 days instead of once a week, and that if things didn’t improve, we’d have to deliver Harper early – again…another piece of information that left me shocked. I spent the rest of the day worrying myself sick thinking about Harper being hurt or born too early, etc. etc. etc. I’m sure the worrying only helped my blood pressure 😉

The very next day I happened to have a physical for a life insurance policy that I had just purchased. When I had scheduled it, I didn’t think it would be a problem to have it during pregnancy because like I said before, I hadn’t had any problems with my blood pressure up until last Tuesday. Well, the physical ended with yet another trip to the doctor. During the physical, the nurse took my blood pressure three times and told me that I needed to call my doctor ASAP. It was 160/88. I called the doctor and he asked that I come in to be checked again. When they checked it there, it had dropped to 140/82, so it was still high, but definitely improved. They sent me home to rest for the remainder of the day. I had another appt. the next day and my blood pressure was pretty much the same, but I had no protein in my urine – that made me super happy!

Fast forward to today. I go in and my blood pressure was 130/78 – still not what it was before last week, but SO much better than 160/88 – and I still had no protein in my urine. It was a very good report in my opinion. I wasn’t even worried about being dilated anymore, I just wanted the blood pressure to chill out. I did end up making some progress as far as dilation goes though 🙂 I was 1.5cm and 50%-60% effaced. Dr. Smith said Harper had also dropped some more. He told me that with my blood pressure being the way it has been, he’s not going to let me go past my due date – insert huge sigh of relief here! I go in again on Thursday and he said we’ll go ahead pick a date for sometime next week. So…our son should be here next week, unless he chooses to come before then. What!?!?! CRAZY!

With that being the case, this will be my last week at work before I make the transition into stay-at-home momma. I must confess that I am very nervous about stepping into that role. I think it will be great. It’s something I’ve been dreaming of since I knew I wanted to be a mother (and thankfully I have a husband who was willing to make it possible for me). I am still a bit nervous though! I’ve ALWAYS had a job outside of the house and not knowing what this new role looks like scares me a little. I’m just anxious to jump in and get started.

Life is good.

4 thoughts on “Prego Update.

  1. Anna says:

    OH MY GOODESS I am so excited!

    I can’t wait to meet baby Harper! Are you still in B’ham? How much longer will you be around? I’m going to be home for a week for Thanksgiving! I need to see you ASAP!

    love you, Momma Duke.

  2. Jessica B. says:

    I’m praying for your blood pressure… but THIS WEEK….YAY! Come on, Harper! I’m so stoked!

  3. Katie J. says:

    I am so excited that your sweet baby will be in your arms next week! Just take deep breaths, remember to breathe, and enjoy this moment. Hopefully it will help keep your blood pressure down too!! 🙂 Big hugs to you and Benji!

  4. That is so wonderful that you want to be a SAHM!! What a blessing… for your baby, you, and your husband. 🙂 I transitioned into staying at home over the summer, and it is a little different. You have to remind yourself that your fulfillment does NOT come from a paycheck; it comes from serving your family (that’s what I’ve had to remind myself of anyway, especially as we save for a house).

Leave a Reply

