Deep Breaths…

Tomorrow is the day. I figured it would be appropriate to blog some last minute thoughts/feelings of mine. Umm…I’m FREAKING out!!! My emotions are all over the place. I’ll be over the moon with excitement one minute and then trembling with fear the next. It’s crazy. I have absolutely no idea what to expect –  that’s what scares me the most. I know everything will be great and totally worth it once I have Harper in my arms, but for now…I’m a ball of nerves!

I go in today for my last appointment and depending on how I’ve progressed, they may or may not keep me overnight. I’m kind of hoping they will keep me because I’m not going to be able to sleep tonight anyways. The past few nights have been absolute torture. I pretty much just lie awake in bed waiting for the sun to come up. It’s like the ultimate night before Christmas where you know you’re going to get something awesome – like a Barbie doll corvette – and you can’t sleep AT ALL. Obviously, I’m getting something so much cooler than a Barbie doll corvette, so even the excitement from the BEST nights before Christmas I’ve ever had doesn’t compare to what I’m feeling now (side note: if I had to pick, I’d say the best night before Christmas was the year I got a trampoline…just FYI)!

In honor of no longer being pregnant tomorrow, I made a list of things I “think” I’ll miss (and won’t miss) about pregnancy. Here they are:

Not Gonna Miss:

  • The acne
  • Heartburn/indigestion
  • Having to roll myself out of bed
  • Having to sit down to put my pants on (I’ve even had to get Benji to help a few times LOL)
  • Peeing 20+ times a day
  • Cankles
  • Grunting when I stand up
  • Snoring (I’ve woken myself up quite a few times)
  • Not being able to sleep on my stomach
  • The “Oh my gosh! You’re huge” comments
  • Belly touching
  • Waddling
  • Leg cramps
  • Being hot ALL the time

Gonna Miss:

  • Feeling beautiful in spite of the hugeness on most days
  • Being able to use the “Hey…I’m carrying your kid” card
  • Having Harper with me all the time
  • The general excitement from friends and family about the new life inside
  • Being able to indulge in cravings without feeling bad about it
  • Not having a period (yes…I just went there)
  • Bacon (it goes with the cravings, but it was special enough to have a line of its own)
  • My hair and nails being awesome
  • Talking to my belly without looking/feeling weird

So yeah…that’s it. Who knows…this time tomorrow, I could be holding my son 🙂 What a wonderful feeling. How is it that I’m finally here?

 

6 thoughts on “Deep Breaths…

  1. Nicole says:

    I’m saying sorry right here and now for being one of those “you’re huge” commenters just yesterday! I’m sorry 😦
    BUT…
    I love your gonna miss column. Every single one resonates with the exception of changing the name, lol.

    • martianbaby says:

      LOL…I don’t even remember you saying that so apparently I’m getting used to it. I guess I should have phrased it that I’m just tired of being huge haha. Honestly, it’s not the comments from my friends that bother me. It’s strangers at grocery stores and malls. The one time it really bothered me and wasn’t a stranger was when someone at church told me a looked like I was about to explode. I don’t know why..it just rubbed me the wrong way.

  2. Hey Ashley! I *cannot* believe that it’s been nearly nine months since you started this blog. That’s just crazy. I’m sure the time has dragged more for you as you’ve eagerly awaited your cuddly gift from God though!

    I will keep you in my prayers today and tomorrow, and I’m looking forward to seeing that you have your baby in your arms! (Hint hint, post pictures quickly so I can live vicariously through you!) 😉

  3. Jessica Bonner says:

    I’m going to miss your waddling. lol. This blog has been awesome. I feel like I’ve been a secret-pregnancy insider… even though all of Facebook can see it. I’m praying for you.. and can’t wait until tomorrow!!

  4. Katie says:

    You forgot to add “Watching your belly make waves every time Harper moves” to your list…. at least, I’m going to miss that part! Haha! Freaks me out… every time!! 🙂

  5. […] something I’ve enjoyed going back and reading over since he has been around. You can read it here, if you […]

Leave a Reply

