Firsts

Well, we’ve had a few “firsts” in the past two days. Yesterday Harper had his first bath and today he had his first doctor’s appointment, which was also our first outing with just the two of us.

The bath was fun. I really thought he was going to scream because he hates the slightest change of temperature on his rump, but to my surprise, he seemed to enjoy the bath. He didn’t scream until we took him out. Maybe I’m terrible, but I think he is adorable when he is mad so I had to take a picture:

I could just eat that precious face up! Juggling an angry baby while trying to take his picture was rather difficult, and I probably should have been focusing more on getting him dressed and warm, but I just had to get a picture of that face :-/ Here is the after picture:

That faces says that I’m forgiven πŸ˜‰

Today was his two week check up and it went great! He was back to his birth weight plus some which made me feel a lot better! Last Monday he had gotten down to 9 lbs 2 oz. Through filling me up, literally, the lactation consultants figured out that I didn’t have enough mammary glands and wouldn’t be able to produce enough milk for him. It wasn’t at all what I wanted to hear because I had hoped to breastfeed exclusively, but I was glad to finally have an answer to why my milk wasn’t coming in the way it should have been. So yeah…since last Monday I’ve been supplementing with formula and it’s apparently working πŸ™‚

Another picture. This one is from the check up today:

He is such a sweet baby πŸ™‚

One thought on “Firsts

  1. OH MY GOSH I need to see this baby…like yesterday….or two weeks ago! He is so perfect, Duke. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

