I Miss Tuscaloosa

Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows – a painful reminder that we no longer live in t-town 😦

Normally we’d dress up and attend the midnight movie premiere with all of our fellow dorky friends, but this year we are in Memphis. Sigh. I’m really missin’ t-town. It didn’t really hit me until after the move – I guess I had too many distractions before leaving to really think about the fact that I was LEAVING!

Every time I go to the grocery store I find myself looking at other people and evaluating them as possible friends – lame…I know! Tonight I was on the baby isle and a lady walked past me with twins that looked about the same age as Harper. I seriously wanted to get down on one knee and pop the question: “Will you be my friend?” How creeper is that? I wonder what she would’ve done. If she’s been on baby lockdown like I have, maybe she would’ve jumped at the chance to have a new mommy friend too. Who knows.

I’m holding out for tomorrow. I’m doing something out of the norm for myself simply out of desperation to find friends. I went online and found a group of stay at home moms that live near me. They meet up 2-3 times a week and tomorrow they are having a potluck at a park. I’m excited and nervous. I’ll be the new gal and I’m hoping that I won’t show up and bomb it (by being awkward). We’ll see. Maybe twin mamma will be there too haha.

I wonder if Memphis will ever feel like Tuscaloosa did.

2 thoughts on “I Miss Tuscaloosa

  1. Katie Jung says:

    Awww Ashley!
    Trust me, I KNOW how hard it is to make this new place a home and find friends. I moved to Germany in July, and I am STILL trying to make this feel more like home. What you are doing is the BEST thing to do. Just finding interest groups and making the big step to go to them.

    I have also found that it is good to indulge in the things that make you feel good. I am so far away from home, so it makes me feel really happy to go to Starbucks (since they have them here!!). I bring a book, read, and just remember what it felt like to be in Tuscaloosa doing the same thing. Not to mention, the menu is the same so I don’t need to use my German! πŸ™‚ I know being on mommy lockdown makes things like that difficult, so maybe it is making your favorite meal for dinner, or having an Alabama-themed evening just you, Benji, and Harper. I have made Roman watch the Bama games online with me, and it makes me feel home again. We make a little party out of it, just the two of us. The last suggestion is this… since you are still close to Tuscaloosa in terms of time zones, skype with those you miss. Seeing friends and having conversation will take away the loneliness a bit. And, if you have a free weekend, pack the baby and make a trip to Alabama. Make that a regular event…. once every few months or something.

    Unfortunately, missing your friends and family will never go away. They are a big part of your life and always have been. Luckily, with time, missing them becomes a little more muted and not screaming in your mind so much. Then, the distance becomes normal and you realize that you have a great life in Memphis. Benji, his job, your beautiful son. πŸ™‚ The friends will come in time. πŸ™‚

    Sorry for writing a novel here. It just made me feel good to have someone “who went throught it” to tell me these things too. Hopefully they bring a bit of hope to you these days. Big hugs to you, Benji, and Harper!

  2. Nicole says:

    This makes me sad for you. But you are the INCREDIBLE Ashley Martin so I am not surprised but am so proud of you for finding a group to check out. I know this will be something great for you and Harper!!!

    Praying for you woman πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

