Baby Fever

Ok…this is so so weird (and stupid), but I have baby fever. How can you have baby fever when you already have a baby?! I think its just because I miss being pregnant. That’s also weird. Ashley Martin misses being pregnant. I hated it when I was there, but now I miss it. WTH?

There was a point in the very beginning when I told Benji I would never ever have a baby again – that first week at home with little one ain’t no joke folks – but now, here we are seven weeks later and I don’t feel that way anymore. I think I may stick to my original plan of having 3-4 Martains, if Benji is game for it. It’ll be a circus, no doubt, but it’ll be our circus – no clowns allowed though.

I love when people randomly come up to us and say “the first few weeks are the hardest.” You have no idea how many times I’ve heard that at just the right moment. It’s like people can see the sleep deprivation taking us to crazy land. Thanks to anyone who offered such encouragement…it really did help me to hold on. And you were right! The first few weeks were the hardest. I think they are hard because the baby can’t smile until around week six, so you’re losing your mind without getting any sort of reward. Now…Harper can give us the worst stank diaper ever or he can be up all night, and some how, that precious smile makes it all okay! It’s great.

I really do love being a mommy. It’s absolutely the hardest (and most important) job I’ve ever had, but I’ve never been so blessed by work in my life. It’s incredible.

3 thoughts on “Baby Fever

  1. Theresa says:

    There’s nothing like four little Martin’s running around…believe me, I know! Even though they are taller than me now. Although, I now have little elli, karly, brie and izzy running around…still fun. The giggles are to die for. So I say go for the FOUR!

  2. Katie says:

    HAHAHA! I have to tell you, I was busting out laughing after that first paragraph! ASHLEY MARTIN MISSES BEING PREGNANT!?!! WHAAAA!!!! 🙂 But, despite all the sickness and discomfort, you were a BEAUTIFUL pregnant chick and it was really exciting to watch you get closer and closer to seeing Harper. I KNEW you loved it!!! 🙂 You guys are such cute parents. But please…. for the sake of all things holy, don’t get preggo again before my wedding. Geez. 😉 J/k!!!

  3. Katie says:

    I use way too many smilies. I have a serious problem.

Leave a Reply

