Sleep.

My child has officially mastered it. No…he doesn’t sleep through the night (I’m not complaining…he only wakes up once nowadays). He has just learned how to put himself to sleep. This is a huge deal! I was beginning to think I would never see this day.

The first night we were home from the hospital, we were up until 5AM because the little Harp man just didn’t want to sleep by himself. We would get him to sleep, and then lay him down in his bassinet and he would wake right up and cry. We finally just put him in the bed with us. We started sleeping with him in our bed on a regular basis because he wouldn’t have it any other way. Those of you who have children know that you’re in survival mode for those first few weeks and you’ll do ANYTHING to get a bit of sleep. We had never planned on having him in our bed, but resorted to it out of desperation. While I love snuggling with that little bear, he is a loud sleeper, and he kicks the crap out of whoever is beside him. After about a month of him sleeping in our bed, we decided to try him out in the pack-n-play. On occasion, he would sleep in it, but it was rare. Most nights I would just give up and put him back in the bed with us. I researched all sorts of methods for getting that baby to sleep and I finally settled on one that I felt worked for our family. We started it about a month ago and the first day of it was awesome. I felt so encouraged because it was working and he was sleeping in his pack-n-play. With each passing day though, it was as if Harper became more stubborn and the method worked less and less. Last week, we moved him out of our room and into his nursery. He did great for two nights, but after that, things started going in reverse. The child would not go to sleep. I would rock him for 40 minutes. He would be OUT, but as soon as I laid him down, he would wake right up and start crying. On Tuesday night, Benji and I ended up giving up and putting him back in the bed with us. This was the first time he had slept in our bed in about a month. It felt like we were back to square one – talk about discouraged! I spent my birthday crying over this because I was so worried Harper wasn’t getting enough sleep. He was only getting about 12-13 hours a day, when a baby his age should be getting about 16 hours a day. Somewhere in the middle of my worryfest, I realized that I hadn’t really prayed about it so I decided to give that a try. Why didn’t I do that first? I prayed over Harper, his crib, and his nursery. He has been going to sleep on his own ever since. It’s amazing. I can lay Harper down in his pack-n-play (we’re at my mom’s right now) and he will just go to sleep. I just want to publicly say THANK YOU JESUS and I’m sorry I didn’t come to you first 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sleep.

  1. Katie says:

    GO JESUS! 🙂 Maybe I need to pray about Arnold sleeping in his crate b/c basically I could tell you exactly what’s been happening at my house by repeating what you posted and replacing “Harper” with “Arnold.” Lol.

Leave a Reply

