Clothing Swap – Brilliant!

I had never heard of a clothing swap until I moved to Memphis. Maybe the moms in Tuscaloosa do it and I just never heard of it? My moms group in Memphis gets together twice a year for a clothing swap. They all bring clothes that their children have outgrown or just don’t wear anymore, and then they swap it with other moms who need it, for new clothes that will fit their kids. For example, I brought a laundry basket full of newborn and 0-3 months clothes last night and traded for sizes from 6 months all the way up to 18 months. I RACKED up! And believe it or not, even though I brought a ton of clothes that Harper has outgrown, I still had enough to fill a large box that I kept for storage.

We got a ton of clothes for Harp before he was born. A lot of it was newborn (which he wore for about a day lol) and 0-3 month outfits. I did get a few 3-6 month, 6-9 month, and 9-12 month outfits too, but not a ton. I think I may have gotten one or two 12-18 month outfits. With Harper growing so fast, I knew some shopping would be in our future. I almost didn’t attend the swap last night because I was tired, but I’m sure glad I did. Not only did I rack up, but I had A LOT of fun too!

This is what I got:

10 long sleeved shirts
22 short-sleeved shirts
2 jackets
3 sweaters
10 pairs of pants
32 onsies
2 pairs of overalls

For a grand total of EIGHTY-ONE items that can be worn from now until next winter!!!!! And most of the things I got look brand new. Here are some pictures:

The pile…

Favorites for winter

Favorites for summer

Favorite onsies


Favorite pants

And that’s it. I’m pretty pumped. Oh and I forgot to mention…anything that doesn’t get swapped gets donated to good will. Isn’t that just the coolest thing?!

2 thoughts on “Clothing Swap – Brilliant!

  1. Hayley H says:

    I totally recognize some of those clothes 😉 The sweet little green TCP sleeper was my very favorite sleeper for Finn that I bought ever. I love the clothing swap!

  2. Tracey Long says:

    Ashley I have to tell u just looking at those clothes makes me sad. some of the clothes look so grown up. Love u all.

Leave a Reply

