Ah….life

Harper is currently sitting in his bouncy seat by our sliding glass door, talking to the day. I love mornings with him. They are my absolute favorite. He is a morning person – just like me! – and is always so happy. He sounds like a little bird with all the high pitched squeals he makes. I usually just take a seat behind him and soak it up because I know it won’t be like this for long.

He is changing so much! Over the past few weeks he has completely stopped taking a paci and now only sucks his thumb. He hardly ever full out cries anymore because of the thumb sucking. When he is starting to get worked up, you can see the hand slowly creeping up towards his face and before you know it, his thumb is in his mouth and he’s quiet. It’s pretty funny to watch.

His personality is really starting to come out too, and I’m afraid he’s got a fiery one lol. He gets SO mad when he can’t do something. He will try three or four times to pick up a dropped toy, and then all hell breaks lose if he can’t get it. He’ll look at me with his face all twisted up and usually I give in and get it for him. I decided yesterday that I’m not going to do this anymore though…at least not if I know he is capable of getting it.

He was lying in the floor yesterday playing with a teething ring and it fell and landed to the left of his head. He is capable of flipping over both ways, but he doesn’t like to do it. If something is right by his head, he will get up on his side and try to get it, but he won’t flip all the way over for it. He tried to get the toy yesterday by doing this, but it was just out of his reach….so he started fussing. He looked at me and I told him I wasn’t getting it for him because he was perfectly capable of getting it. He fussed harder. What he doesn’t know yet is that he gets his stubbornness from me 🙂 This testing of wills went on for about 5-10 minutes. He almost flipped over to get it once, but caught himself right before turning onto his stomach and flipped right back over onto his back. He really doesn’t enjoy rolling I guess. He finally got it through a mixture of flailing his arms and scooting himself closer to it. Stubborn baby.

He also gets mad if I’m bouncing him in his seat and stop. It’s really cute because he starts fussing and bouncing himself really hard. And you know I had to make a video of him doing this:

What can I say? We’re in for it. God help us once he reaches the terrible twos.

Leave a Reply

