Mom Cut

Well, it only took six months, but I finally caved and got a mom cut. I’ve been wanting to chop my hair off since Harper’s arrival, but I was afraid I would regret it. The last time I got my hair cut (besides bangs) was three years ago, and I ended up crying that time because I missed it being long. It wasn’t even really that long when I got it cut then, it was only a little bit past my shoulders. I figured since I cried over that, I would definitely cry if I chopped it off now…so I waited. I came to my breaking point Saturday. Harper is always getting his hands caught in my hair. He usually gets his whole hand tangled up in my hair and then he’ll try to shove a fist full of hair into his mouth. I had gotten to the point where I would wear my hair in a bun every day so that he couldn’t do that anymore. A bun like this:

I was beginning to feel like a little old lady, and I decided enough was enough! I decided I’d be brave and chop that crap off. I made a video to my future self explaining why long hair sucks in hopes that if I regretted it, the video would make me feel better. So far I haven’t needed it! I love love love my hair short and I don’t think I’ll ever have it long again. At least not until my hair is silky and gray.

Here are the before and after pictures:

How come no one told me I looked like cousin IT?!

Since my hair is short enough to dye on my own again, I colored it too:

YAY! So yeah…I’m really happy with it. Harper can’t eat it anymore. I can dye it on my own. It doesn’t get tangled when I ride with the windows down. I don’t have to use a crapload of shampoo & conditioner when I wash it. AND it doesn’t take me 20 minutes to brush the tangles out anymore. Tangles don’t even exist for me anymore! This was probably one of the best decisions I’ve made in a while.

2 thoughts on “Mom Cut

  1. Katie says:

    CRAAAAAZY!!!! And I LOVE it! I mean, long hair is cool, but you actually look YOUNGER with your hair short! Truly! I look older, which is why I am trying to let mine grow… I’d like to see this video that you made for yourself…..

  2. Misty says:

    It looks good … and I’m glad you are so much happier with it than last time!

Leave a Reply

