Well Hello, Six Months!

I feel like I just came home from the hospital with a newborn. Has it really been six months since I first began losing my heart and mind to the world of parenting? If I close my eyes, I can still remember and even feel the same feelings I had in the first few weeks. The intimidation of having a teeny tiny baby (well…Harper was never really “teeny tiny” but he was small compared to us), being afraid of screwing something up, the loneliness that comes from leftover hormones and being at home with a newborn 24/7, the extreme exhaustion that no amount of reading/researching can prepare you for, the feeling of helplessness as you realize that you haven’t the slightest idea of what you are doing. And then the intense joy of looking at your baby and realizing he is YOURS and having that single emotion wipe away all the other crappy ones. I remember it like it was yesterday. Some of those things haven’t changed. I still don’t know what the hell-o I’m doing sometimes. My mom made the comment once that you really don’t know what you’re doing until after your third baby. Really? I’ve got a long way to go in that case. Maybe I’ll have two next time around and then I’ll really be a pro!

It’s hard to think that in another six months my baby could potentially be walking around. I guess I need to start baby-proofing my house. He’s already starting to do push-ups when he’s on his tummy, so it appears that crawling is right around the corner. It’s amazing how quickly he changes. My favorite thing about him right now is his laugh. He laughs ALL the time! And I’m not talking about a little giggle…I’m talking about deep belly laughs. It is the sweetest thing in the world. I went to the post office and the grocery store earlier this morning and I can’t tell you how many people stopped to enjoy his company just because he was laughing at EVERYTHING. I hope that never ever changes about him. I hope he can always bring a smile to someone else’s face because of his sunny outlook on life. What a sweet personality he has!

I already posted this to Facebook, but I’m putting it on the blog as well. These are just a few of my favorite pictures taken of Harp so far:

I’m so glad I was chosen to be his mommy.

Leave a Reply

