A lot.

A lot has happened since last week.

Last Monday, after yet another setback with Benji’s job at Raleigh Egypt, we decided that maybe God was telling us it’s time to get outta here! We have received several “signs” over the past few months, but I think we were both so afraid of leaving before we were supposed to, that we just kinda looked over them. I don’t have to tell most of you where we are going, because if you’ve known us for any length of time, you know we want to be in Virginia. It’s beautiful there and we would be with family – it has been our goal for almost five years now. Benji has applied for a few jobs, but as of right now, we don’t have anything lined up for certain. This is a scary place to be when it’s just you and your spouse…it’s even scarier when you add a kiddo into the mix! We were both really terrified last Monday, but then that night, God provided us with a place to stay – that just confirmed everything for us. We still have moments of “oh crap…what the hell-o are we doing?!” but for the most part, we are feeling great about it. There is peace, even though there is uncertainty. We are planning on moving up in July, but that could change depending on Benji’s job situation. Thankfully he will be getting paid until August so we’ve got some time to get things lined up!

We kind of lost track of who all we told, so if you are finding out via the blog – I’m sorry 🙂 The tornado hit a couple of days after we made our decision and everything just got turned upside down – literally.

Last week was a crazy week. I’m thankful that my family is still intact – it was a street away from being a different story. All who are dear to me survived, although I do have friends who lost everything. We went to Alabama over the weekend to help and it was just beyond words. Pictures really don’t do it justice. I realized pretty quickly that my stuff doesn’t matter, my relationships do.  So if you are reading this, know that I love you, you are dear to me and I have a new appreciation for you – I’m so thankful that you are alive!

One thought on “A lot.

  1. Megg says:

    “I realized pretty quickly that my stuff doesn’t matter, my relationships do.”

    This is so true. It’s sad that a terrible tornado makes us realize and remember this, but it really is true. I look around and feel sick over what I have. So much of it I don’t need…yet I feel like I can’t live without it. But at the end of the day, my relationships and family do matter most. Thanks for reminding me of that.

Leave a Reply

