Craft-izzle

I found this amazing jewelry holder on Pinterest the other day:

I couldn’t get it off my mind, so I decided to make one for myself! I love yellow and gray, so those are the colors I went with and I must say, it turned out quite lovely.

I went to Michael’s and bought canvas, paint, ribbon, and a package of yarn flowers. I got the drawer pulls from Lowe’s. The canvases came in a set of two so I have enough of everything to make another one of these, which I will probably do tomorrow. Benji and I are staying at my mom’s house for the week, so it’s nice to have a little craft to work on while everyone is at work for the day.

I also randomly got the urge to learn how to crotchet the other day – I went ahead and bought yarn and crotchet needles while we were at Micheal’s. I’ve always thought crocheting was neat, but it looks extremely confusing, so I’ve never really gotten the nerve to try it. Last night, with yarn and needle in hand, I watched a YouTube video on crocheting.  Big surprise…it WAS confusing! The lady in the video was talking and moving way too fast, so I ended up turning it off and just trying to figure it out on my own. It took me a while, but I finally got the hang of it this morning 🙂 I decided to make a baby blanket for Harper. Here is what it looks like right now:

We already have a blanket similar to this that a friend’s mother made, and we love it! It’ll be nice to have another one around the house. Now that I’m making this type of blanket, I have so much appreciation for the one our friend gave us! It’s amazing how much work must have gone into that thing!

Next on the list of things I need to learn how to make:

My friend Kristy sent this to me, and oh…my…lord. I died laughing. I MUST have this for Harper.

2 thoughts on “Craft-izzle

  1. Misty says:

    Good for you for learning to crochet! I’ve tried it before and just have never been able to get the hang of it. I had a bunch of yarn stashed away for the longest time, but I think I finally tossed it in the garbage. If I happen to find it, though, you are welcome to it!

  2. susanna says:

    look at you …. gettin’ all crafty!!!! LOVE. IT.

Leave a Reply

