Cherishing the Moments.

My Harper does not like to cuddle. I’m not much of a cuddler either, unless we’re talking about Benji or Harp. I’ve never been a fan of hugs, and things of that nature (PS: side hugs are okay…just the full hugs bother me). Anyways, it seems my aversion to cuddles/hugs was passed on to my son. He seems to feel confined whenever we try to hug him. He doesn’t get mad, he just pushes us away. I think if he would’ve had full use of his arms at birth, he probably would have fought the cuddles then too. He definitely fought being swaddled. 

He’s been going to sleep on his own since about four months of age. All I have to do is lay him in his crib or pack & play, hand him his bunny and he goes to sleep. I’m so happy that he does this, but I also miss being able to rock him to sleep (he won’t let me anymore). He’ll sit in my lap and let me hold him, but he won’t fall asleep on me…ever! He just looks around and studies everything in sight.

Today I had a rare moment with him. I had been out all morning with my friend Jennifer. We went to yardsales, ran errands and then we decided to go to lunch. Harper hadn’t had his morning nap, so he was very tired. He fell asleep in the car and when I picked him up to go inside the restaurant, he woke up, and then laid his head down on my shoulder and went right back to sleep. I know it’s probably stupid to blog about it, but my heart got so warm and fuzzy. It was just…special. We went inside and ate and my sweet little boy slept on my shoulder almost the entire time…even while I was eating a hamburger over his head.

Of course I took a picture of the sweet moment, because who knows when/if it’ll ever happen again:

I LOVE HIM.

4 thoughts on “Cherishing the Moments.

  1. Misty says:

    Seriously, this is why I loooooove that Noah took to the Ergo so well. He has his independent moments, but he falls asleep on me all the time in that thing.

  2. Jenn says:

    I’m so glad I was there to witness your sweet moment in person. Our babies are b-l-e-s-s-I-n-g-s!

Leave a Reply

