Chicken Pox?

Before I get started, I want to warn you that I’m going to be posting pictures of what I’m writing about, so if you’re grossed out by rashes, read no further 🙂

Most of you who read my blog come from Facebook, so you probably saw that Harper was running a fever yesterday. His fever got up to 102 and then finally broke in the evening. He was fussy all day long and you could just tell he wasn’t feeling well. He has been cutting teeth like crazy (he is up to EIGHT now!!!) so I assumed it might be teething again since he had no other symptoms. He’s had some bumps on his arms that Benji and I thought were mosquito bites, but this morning they looked different. He also had some new ones appear on his legs overnight. Luck would have it that he happened to have a well-visit scheduled for today. Long story short, the pediatrician told me that he thought he either had chicken pox or a rash caused by a viral infection. He couldn’t tell me which one for sure because he said there was one bump (top left corner in the picture I’m about to post) that wasn’t “common” with chicken pox. So…I’m posting a picture to get opinions from other moms who’ve dealt with chicken pox or anything similar:

Can any of you tell me what the crap this is?! IS it chicken pox? He has 2-3 on each limb, a couple on his neck, and a couple on his face. The one in the top left corner is the only one that looks like that, all the others just have one blister.

I don’t know…I was just really surprised that the pedi couldn’t tell me which one. He didn’t seem concerned either way. He just told me to make sure Harp doesn’t scratch them and to put Benadryl cream on them every day until they go away. He said to call if it gets worse. Hopefully it won’t.

Other than that, his check up was great. He didn’t have to get any shots – thank the Lord! It would’ve broken my heart after the day he had yesterday.

He currently weights 25 lbs 10 ounces (93rd percentile) and is 30.25 inches long (86th percentile). His head is 19.5 inches around. So big that it doesn’t even get a percentile…see:


The pedi said Harper isn’t crawling yet because his head is so heavy. Poor baby boy. I can’t help but giggle though. I was/am a melon head too.  

5 thoughts on “Chicken Pox?

  1. Elizabeth L. says:

    Not a mom, but looking at that rash I would say it’s not chicken pox. Chicken pox usually (but not always of course) begin on the back and stomach and then spread. And looking at the pictures here (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0002559/) compared to the spots Harper has, I don’t think they look the same. Sometimes babies get rashes with high fevers (some virus like your doc said) so that’s probably it.

    That said, if it is chicken pox, there really isn’t much you can do anyway. If it gets worse, my mom always swore by a lukewarm oatmeal bath (I think Aveno used to make a product but I’m sure you can DIY it) and calamine lotion.

  2. Mom says:

    please tell your pediatrician about Matt losing his sight from chicken pox just to be on the safe side!! It’s important and if his eye or eyes get red and watery take him immediately. Looks like them to me though.

  3. Misty says:

    Poor kiddo! Hope his rash gets better soon!

  4. […] Poor baby boy 😦 I feel so bad for him. Especially since he JUST got over whatever it was he had two weeks ago (I basically concluded it was Hand, Foot & Mouth). Prayers for my sweet baby are much […]

  5. Kristofer Bradly says:

    Chickenpox is most infectious from one to two days before the rash starts, until all the blisters have crusted over (usually five to six days after the start of the rash).If your child has chickenpox, try to keep them away from public areas to avoid contact with people who have not had it, especially people who are at risk of serious problems, such as newborn babies, pregnant women and anyone with a weakened immune system (for example, people having cancer treatment or taking steroid tablets).*

    Look out for our very own blog site as well
    <.http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/broken-rib-symptoms/

Leave a Reply

