It’s Autumn, Yo!

Yeah. Amazing, right?! I know.

We came up to Virginia in October 2009 and I’ll always remember how breathtaking it was. That was the first time I had ever seen autumn outside of Alabama. We were only up for a week, but it was the peak week and oh…my…gosh! Words could never describe the beauties I saw that week. I constantly find myself revisiting the memories I have from that trip. Seriously. I can still feel the wind on my face at the top of Humpback Rock. Or close my eyes and see the blinding yellow of the fallen leaves in the middle of the woods. And the hidden staircase off the trail. Or the swarms of ladybugs at the top of Crabtree Falls. It was magical.

Since moving here in June, October has been on my mind A LOT. I’ve been so anxious for it to arrive! You’d think it’s because of Harp’s birthday, but no…it’s because I’ve been dying to see the leaves change. I was half afraid the change wouldn’t be as great as I remembered, but when it started last week, it didn’t disappoint. And it’s only gotten better with each passing day.

The trees all change at their own pace. Some change really slowly, and then others will change in a day. There is one tree by our house that really surprised me. When I left for work one morning, it was green. By the time I came home, the top portion of it was a deep red, like red velvet cake, while the bottom was still green. It looked like someone had dipped it in paint and was ready to put it to canvas. It was so pretty and intense!

And then you have the mountains. As if they couldn’t get any better! Normally a dark green, almost black, color in the sunlight, they are now speckled with reds, oranges, browns and yellows. It’s just….beautiful. Sigh. Fall in Alabama is pretty, but it just doesn’t compare to this.

I can’t wait until Harper is old enough to appreciate this season. I can already see the three of us jumping in giant piles of leaves together. Maybe by then he won’t be obsessed with eating leaves anymore 🙂

Leave a Reply

