The Great Grans.

My grandparents came up for a visit yesterday. It’s a short trip – they’ll be leaving tomorrow – but we made great use of our time together today.

We started the day off by visiting The Cheese Shop. It’s an amazing little shop that’s about two miles from my house. They have all sorts of things that you can’t find in a grocery store. We were there for a good 30 minutes before a tour bus decided to unload into the store. We quickly left once that happened.

Afterwards, we made a trip to the Shenandoah National Park. We just took the Grans to a couple of overlooks so they could really see into the valley. It was beautiful. And we made lots of pictures.

Like this one of me and Harp:

and this one of Harp & dada:

The little booger wouldn’t smile while we were at the SNP. He took a quick nap in the car and was much improved by the time we reached our next destination: Stonewall Jackson’s home. We had originally planned on going to Monticello (Thomas Jefferson’s home), but tickets were $22 per person. Benji and I had been before, so we decided to go somewhere that was a little cheaper and that none of us had seen before. Stonewall’s house was the same distance from our home as Monticello, so we decided to go there.

Harper decided to be my loud little baby bird while we were at Stonewall’s house. About halfway through the house tour, I decided to take him outside because he was being SO loud. I thought it was cute, but I’m sure the other peeps who paid $8 to take the guided tour didn’t share in my parental joy.

We had a good time outside while waiting on The Great Grans to finish the tour. There is a lovely little garden at Stonewall’s house so we spent most of our time there. It was lovely and I got a few more pictures of Harper while there:

Beautiful baby blues.

This one breaks my heart. When did he get so big?

After visiting Stonewall’s, we went to a little Farmer’s Market that’s right by my house. This FM is awesome because it’s open EVERY day and it’s all local stuff. I love it!

Now we’re at home watching Bama kick some Ole’ Miss booty!

Today has been great. I’ll be sad to see The Great Grans go tomorrow, but I’m so glad they got to come up for some quality time with Harper. He loves his Great Grans.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Great Grans.

  1. kristy says:

    Harp looks half the size of Benji in that pic! He has grown so much! I wish yall were here so he and Lucy could walk hand-in-hand in the park 😦

    I think you owe me a skype and/or phone date :))

Leave a Reply

