It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to…

Cry tears of joy, that is. Good Lord, this is late! If you’re friends with me on Facebook, then you’ll know that we had Harper’s 1st birthday party on October 23rd. It…was….AWESOME! We had it at Chiles Peach Orchard in Crozet, Virginia and were impressed with how it turned out. I was so impressed that I even mentioned having it there again next year to Benji.

We had a turnout of about 35 people and it seemed that everyone genuinely enjoyed themselves while there. The party started with everyone going out into the orchard and picking apples. Afterwards, Harper (aka mommy & daddy) opened his presents and then everyone had cake. I enlisted the help of Harper’s aunt Marcy and uncle Nathan with cupcakes and the birthday cake. Nathan made the cupcakes because he rocks at them and Marcy made Harper’s cake. Here’s a picture of it:

Beautiful!

The birthday party package at Chiles was $150 and included:

Ø  Party host to get things started

Ø  Reserved picnic table(s)

Ø  Container for each child to Pick Your Own fruit (in season)

Ø  Cup of frozen yogurt or ice cream for each child

Ø  Birthday Donuts and candles

Ø  Party-themed tablecloths, napkins, plates, utensils

Ø  Goodie Bags as take-home gifts

Ø  Special gift for birthday child

In my opinion, it was a steal. There are some amazingly talented mamas out there who would die to plan their child’s party, bake the cake and hand-make all the decorations. I am not one of those moms (I won’t lie though…I sometimes wish I was one of them). I dreaded just the thought of having to plan a birthday party….especially a first birthday party! I wanted the party to be good for everyone, not just Harper, and I really didn’t think I had it in me to do all that was required for that. That’s why Chiles ended up being the perfect thing for me. It took all the worry and stress off of my shoulders. They pretty much did everything short of sending out invitations. My friends…that was TOTALLY worth $150 🙂

If you’re living in or around the Valley, I highly recommend the orchard for birthday parties. Heck…I highly recommend that place for just a simple visit. It’s such a fantastic peace of earth!

Leave a Reply

