Harper the Grump

Harper has been extremely hard to handle here lately. He’s usually really easy going and happy, but that hasn’t been the case for about a month now. I spotted the culprit about a week ago. Yeah…it’s a tooth – one of his K-9’s, to be more specific. That sucker must’ve hurt coming through because Harp has been so so so SO grumpy. I thought the grumpiness would soon be coming to an end since I could finally see the tooth, but then Harper got croup…again.

This week has been rough to say the least. And I had a meltdown today. My friend Susanna called me after seeing something I had written on Twitter about emotional eating – I was shoving cheese-sticks down my throat when she called. I ended up turning into a crying basket-case while on the phone with her. Harper had calmed down by that point, but I was still frazzled over the 1.5 hrs he had spent crying before she called.

In the end, Sus made me feel better, as she always does. It’s nice to have a level-headed friend on your side. She talked me through it, encouraged me and reminded me that he’s not going to be a demanding little grumper for forever, and then she prayed for me. I’m blessed to have such an amazing friend.

I’m feeling much better (for now). I say “for now” because I’m starting to realize that this motherhood thing is FULL of ups and downs and it’s only a matter of time before the next “down” hits. One minute I feel like a pro, and then the next, I doubt every single decision I make. It makes for a wild ride, folks. Six flags ain’t got nothin’ on motherhood!

I had planned on writing about something I was thankful for in honor of Thanksgiving, but this came out instead. So I’ll end with this:  I’m thankful for Harp keeping me on my toes (and keeping it interesting!), I’m thankful for God for keeping me humble, and I’m thankful for the beautiful JOY (and the struggles) of motherhood. I really do love this gig…even on it’s hardest days 🙂

One thought on “Harper the Grump

  1. Katie says:

    Teaching is SO much the same way…. some days you feel like you’re like the BEST! TEACHER! EVER! and then other days you think you might get thrown in jail because you’re so terrible. But, Sus is right…. he won’t stay that way forever and you just do the best you can on days like that and look forward to happier days. 🙂 Bad days help you realize just how great the good days really are!

Leave a Reply

