How I Got Pregnant

You didn’t REALLY think I was going to tell you all about that did you? That’s what we would call a little TMI. Besides…I think we all know how that process works by now. If not, I’ll refer you back to 10th grade health class with the creepy coach/teacher guy who would scratch his crotch while teaching everyone about Gonorrhea. Oh, wait…was that just at Pleasant Grove? My bad.

Nah…my title was just about getting clicks 😉 Now that you’re here, I’ll tell you what you probably already knew or guessed: I’m pregnant again. Yes. It’s true. I’ve known since November 16th and I’ve wanted to blog about it several times since then, but I’ve just been tired. SO tired. I only *thought* I was tired when I was pregnant with Harp. Whoa, buddy.

Aside from the fatigue, I’ve been feeling great so far! I’ve hardly been sick at all….A-MAZING! (Don’t worry. I’m not going to update you on how I’m feeling every day, like I did with Harper. That was a little overboard)

I don’t want this to be long, but there are a few things I want to write about lest I forget 🙂 Benji and I weren’t planning on trying to get pregnant again until he got into a professional librarian position. He has always jokingly said that the only sure way to prevent having a baby is to want one and the only sure way to get one is to not want one => that was true for both of our pregnancies. Not that we didn’t “want” a baby. Babies are always welcome in our household, I think. We just weren’t planning one. With Harper, we planned and tried for ten months before finally getting pregnant. With this one, we decided to wait and BAM! We got pregnant. Pretty hilarious, if you ask me.

The part I want to remember is how I found out the day after God worked a huge miracle in our lives. Remember how someone broke into my car and stole my purse and how God provided for a new window, among other things? I found out the very next morning. I’m pretty sure if those events hadn’t taken place, I would’ve had a giant panic attack over having an unplanned baby. However, with the happenings of the previous day, it was absolutely IMPOSSIBLE for me to worry over it.

The other thing I want to remember is the week leading up to November 16th. I fell asleep every night at 7PM and I had lots of baby dreams. Because of the dreams, I had a feeling that I was pregnant and even wrote a note about it in my phone. I honestly thought I was just being paranoid, but I guess I was completely sane after all 🙂 I love that before I actually knew I was pregnant, my brain was dreaming about it. That’s just so cool to me!

We told our family with this little booger:

And here’s a video of Benji’s family finding out on Thanksgiving (lots of hugs were given to me, so some parts are kind’ve shaky and weird)

So there you have it! We couldn’t be more thrilled about little bean #2. I’m so glad that God’s timing doesn’t always line up with our own. It makes for some awesome surprises!

My first ultrasound is December 6th. In hopes of avoiding another c-section, I’m seeing a midwife this time around. Should be VERY interesting 🙂

 

 

9 thoughts on “How I Got Pregnant

  1. Misty says:

    I’m excited for you, and I am SO excited you are seeing a midwife! My doctor wasn’t a midwife (since it’s illegal in Alabama … guh), but she was probably as close as I could’ve gotten! Hope you can have a VBAC, especially since it seems to be important to you. I hear every pregnancy is different, so hopefully the things that caused you to need a Cesarean with Harp will not be an issue at all this time!

    • Rebecca M. says:

      Misty, a midwife is totally different than an OB/GYN (doctor). A nurse midwife is an advanced practice nurse who has her (or rarely, his) master’s degree in nursing and has specialized in nurse midwifery, making her/him a CNM. Or a midwife may be a lay or direct entry or traditional midwife who has completed a program involving study and apprenticeship, then passed an exam to be certified. One certification process yields the designation CPM (Certified Professional Midwife). Some states issue licenses to this type of midwife, making them licensed midwives (LM).

      Nurse midwives are not illegal, though pretty rare, in Alabama. They can only practice in hospitals. But lay midwifery IS illegal in that state, and CNMs can’t (legally) attend births outside a hospital.

      Hope that clears up any confusion. 🙂

      • Misty says:

        Sorry, I realize that my comment was a bit confusing, but I’m also friends with Ashley, so I figured she would understand what I meant.

        But basically what I meant is that a birth attended solely by a midwife is illegal. As far as I know, there are no nurse midwives in my city, though; I chose not to have a doula for my birth because my doctor is incredibly supportive of natural labor and delivery. Of course, failure to progress can get the best of us … I firmly believe an epidural and lots of pitocin were the only things that kept me from having a C-section.

        Hope you will get some stuff up on your blog. I’d be interested in reading! And if you are interested, here’s my birth story: http://thefamilymath.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/noah-is-here/.

  2. kristy says:

    I seriously cant wait to see how your experience is going from a Csection, GO ASH! Im still wanting someone to try out Hypnobirthing….. 😉 Love you!

    • Misty says:

      I read about the hypnobirthing stuff when I was researching natural birth, and it freaked me out!!

      • martianbaby says:

        Aww…how come? That’s the method I’m gonna go with, I think.

      • Misty says:

        There was one lady I read about who swore up and down that her dead relatives were talking to her and crazy stuff like that. So if you want to talk to Great Aunt Edna one more time, go for it, but I think I’ll stick to more sane methods! 🙂

  3. Rebecca M. says:

    I found your blog randomly. I just wanted to offer encouragement for your VBAC. I had a nurse midwife-attended hospital birth with my oldest son and was planning a nurse midwife-attended home birth before we discovered that I was carrying twins in my last pregnancy. I don’t have any content on my blog but contact me if I can offer any advice. I’m a trained birth doula.

  4. Katie says:

    Aww, man! I was hoping for the R-rated version!! 😉 Kidding. Blake & I are SO excited for you! God will totally provide, you are going to be blessed with love and energy, and Harper is gonna make an adorable big brother! Can’t wait to see Baby Martian #2!!!!! (Rooting for a girl!!!)

Leave a Reply

