That time Harper projectile vomited on Benji…

If you’re a Facebook follower, then this isn’t new news: Harper is sick. He developed a cough on Saturday night, but we didn’t really think anything of it. His pediatrician previously told us he would probably have a “croupy” cough several times during the winter. He told us that Harper reacts to the common cold by developing “croup” so we assumed that this was what was happening.

Sunday and Monday didn’t really change our minds. On Monday, Harper puked for the first time ever. That’s right, folks! He’s been vomit free since 93 (another HIMYM reference)…or for the first year of life at least 🙂 I wasn’t concerned over the fact that he puked because it was after a coughing fit. He basically coughed and coughed until he gagged and then well…you know the rest. Monday night he refused to eat. He did take a bottle, after which we put him down for the night. And then, our worst night in the history of Harperhood began.

Harper woke up screaming every 30-40 minutes…pretty much all night long. It was exhausting. And did I mention that I was sick too (thought it was a cold, but now I’m thinking bronchitis)? Benji and I took turns with him, but I still thought I would die. At one point, I realized that he was happier while sitting up instead of lying flat. I raised his mattress with a pillow and that helped tremendously! After this discovery, I concluded that he must have an ear infection. A trip to his pediatrician’s office the next morning confirmed an ear infection and RSV – geeez!!

So now to the title of the blog-o! After actually succeeding in getting Harper to eat last night, we took him upstairs for a bath. After bathing him, and getting him dressed, I handed him off to Benji so that I could go hang his towel back up. While I was in the bathroom, I heard “HELP!! ASHLEY!!!” Being sick and slow, I did not run into the room. I just said “what do you need?” And in reply, I got another panicked “Help!” It sounded a little more serious this time, so I “rushed” into the room to find a scene from The Exorcist. Benji was holding Harper and well…puke was going everywhere, including on him.

Honestly, it was quite impressive. I didn’t know Harper had that kind of power in him lol. Eventually the puke fountain stopped and we got everything cleaned up (yeah…that took a while). Harper had a smirk on his face the whole time we were cleaning up and would giggle at us occasionally. Little booger.

All I could think after that little episode was thank God Benji was the one holding him (haha sorry babe)! I’m a chain puker, so I don’t think that would’ve ended well, had it been me in his place. Thankfully, we haven’t had anymore vomits today. I’m hoping to keep us vomit free for at least another year. Please, oh please, oh please let it happen!

At least Harper is a happy baby, even when he is sick. He smiled a lot yesterday. I took this while we were cuddled up together on the couch:

Gosh. I love him.

One thought on “That time Harper projectile vomited on Benji…

  1. Katie says:

    Thanks for that healthy dose of birth control!!! 😉 Haha. I’m so sorry you’re both sick – praying you get better soon and so happy that you have a husband who is in the trenches with you.

Leave a Reply

