Traditions.

With Harper being a lot more aware this Christmas than he was last, we decided to start some traditions that we want to do with him (and our other kiddos) each year.

Tradition #1 – Get a picture with Santa

Harper had his picture made with Santa last year when he was itty bitty. It’s amazing how much he’s changed in a year! We’re going to take him for a picture each year until he thinks he’s too cool to do it anymore. After that, I’m going to make a scrapbook or maybe even a giant holiday frame to hold all of the Santa pictures. I just think it’ll be neat to see the progress between each photo 🙂

Tradition #2 – Five gifts


Source

I decided to do this for each of our kids mainly because I like the idea of setting limits for myself. I LOVE giving gifts and have the potential to get really carried away with it. With this, not only will I have an idea of what to get each year, but it will also (hopefully) prevent me from going absolutely nuts with my gift giving. The idea is that you give your kids four gifts: a want, a need, something to wear, and something to read.

This is a picture of Harper’s “four” things for this Christmas:

He got a green hairbrush that folds up into a ball (a need), a wooden block set (a want…although we did have to guess at it this year), a toboggan, winter coat and socks (something to wear) and two books.  And see what I mean?! We even went over a little bit even though we had limits.

You’ll notice that when I wrote Tradition #2 up top, I wrote five gifts, instead of four. That’s because I want to add a gift to the list – a gift to give away. When Harper and our other kiddos are older, I want them to be involved in giving to those that are less fortunate. We will have them pick out a gift for a needy child and then give it away, probably through Angel Tree, Toys for Tots or something like that. I think it’ll be a neat way to teach them to care for the poor.

Tradition #3 – Memory Jar

Source

When I was 18, I made one of these for a dear friend of mine. For the life of me, I can’t remember where I got the idea from, but I know it wasn’t Pinterest, as Pinterest wasn’t around in 2004.

For our family, I’ll have the memory jar set out in a special place throughout the year. It’ll have a pen and slips of paper beside it. Whenever something happy or funny happens, or just something we want to remember, we can write it on a slip of paper and stick it into the memory jar. On Christmas or New Years (haven’t decided which one yet) we’ll read through all of our memories from the previous year. I plan on buying some wine racks to display the jars on. The year will be written on the top of the lid, so you can pick and choose what year you want to read, and just pull it from the wine rack.

So…those are a few of our traditions. What are some of yours?

2 thoughts on “Traditions.

  1. Katie says:

    Blake’s family has been taking photos with Santa forever…. Blake thought last year was his last time to do the photo, until I said I wanted to be in the photo, too! So the tradition continues and we’ve decided that once you’re married, your spouse joins you in the photo. Imagine once we all start having kids!!!! 🙂

    Love the idea of setting limits for presents – This year, Blake & I just set a modest spending limit and it worked out well. I came in under-budget and he went wee bit over – so it worked out! 🙂

    A tradition we started this year was to read the story of Jesus’ birth before opening our presents. It was just a way for us to remember the gift of Christ and it really set the tone for opening gifts – we weren’t ripping into the paper in a heated frenzy, but instead taking our time and enjoying watching each other open gifts and being thankful for what we have, even though we sometimes feel like we don’t have enough. 🙂

    Lots of smileys… not enough exclamation marks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. […] of you may remember my Traditions post from last year. Well, I am happy to report that we kept all three traditions in 2012! This […]

Leave a Reply

