Toddler Meals

Harper is slowly becoming somewhat of a challenge to feed. And it’s driving me insane. Up until a few weeks ago, he was known as my garbage disposal because he would eat ANYTHING I put in front of him.

While he has always enjoyed both fruits and vegetables, he has preferred vegetables to fruits ever since he started solids. I could put a head of broccoli in front of him and he’d chow down on it.  I loved it! I never thought he’d become a picky eater.

Now he’s exactly the opposite – he LOVES fruit. And vegetables? Well…sometimes he’ll eat them, but they mostly end up on the floor. I’m having to be sneaky about the healthy stuff these days. Like today…I made him this for lunch:

A turkey sandwich with cheese, avocado and tomato on it.
Might I add that it looks absolutely delicious?!

I put cheese all over the place and melted it because Harp loves cheese and I figured if the good things were stuck in between the cheese, he wouldn’t notice. Either that, or he wouldn’t feel like sitting and picking through it in order to remove the “yucky” things. Hahaha! Oh buddy, was I fooling myself!

This was the end result:

Seriously?!

It’s frustrating to put so much time, effort and money into getting your kid to eat their veggies only for them to be thrown to the side! So…I need some tips/advice from you seasoned mothers out there! Is there anything I can do differently? Or should I just not press the issue in hopes that it’s just a phase?

4 thoughts on “Toddler Meals

  1. Jenn says:

    Damn. Smarty-pants kid. I’m not seasoned in this area, but I’m a picky eater myself. Desperate to work more ruffage into my diet, I started chopping up leafy veggies with a food processor and mixing them in with what I was eating. Impossible to pick them out, and I hardly noticed they were there. I bet it’s just a phase– I’ve read to just keep offering, and hopefully one day they’ll eat like you want them too. Of course, when they have picky-eater-parents, that could complicate the issue, which is why I’m desperate to straighten up my food habits. Good luck!

  2. Ash…you can be my momma! That sandwich looks incredible. It will definitely get better, I promise. When I worked at Goddard I had some really picky 3 1/2 year olds and all of them slowly got better with the pickyness and trying new things!

  3. Katie says:

    OK, I get it – kids are not the same as pets. But that’s all I got right now! Arnold does the same thing…. he is picky about eating his dog food. Every now and then, I’ll be nice and mix in some table scraps, thinking he’ll scarf down everything in the bowl. Nope. He will pick around the kibbles and bits and just eat the good stuff.

    One day I’ll have a kid and I’ll stop comparing Harper to Arnold!

  4. beth says:

    It’s a phase but you have to be careful how you and Benji handle it. You loved the creamed spinach when you were little along with every other kind of veggie then you woke up one day and wouldn’t touch any of them. Keep giving him veggies, the ones you know he likes with a few of the ones that may not be his favs. Just give him smaller portions so it isn’t so costly and wastful if he won’t eat them. Use a little seasoning or even a little ranch but DO NOT force or punish him if he won’t eat them, if you do you can forget him ever eating them until he is much older. Just encourage him, let him see y’all eat them and he will probably eat them too. Make sure you give him every color of veggie so that he is used to the colors as well or he will get to a point where he won’t eat something because of the color. You started eating them again around 2 or 2 1/2.

Leave a Reply

