Driftwood

I’m gonna go ahead and make a public plea that my husband does not kill me when he sees this 🙂

Benji gives me a poem for V-day every year. It has been a tradition since our first year of marriage. He has such a beautiful way of saying things, and constantly puts things in perspective for me. I’m so thankful that God gave me a man who can help me see the things that matter and the things that don’t on a daily basis, and especially during the hard times.

Driftwood

Like Noah, we’ve gathered everything that made up our life, and built a boat around it.
(Unlike Noah, we’ve done it more than once.)
We’ve trusted the sea and Providence to move us and beach us where they saw fit.
There have been times when there was nothing left of our ark, but a ragged plank
And me clinging to you, or you clinging to me; holding each other’s head above the freezing water
Dreaming of hot Alabama summers.
We’ve always washed up on some shore safely, somehow.
Now, as the drizzle starts to fall, and we begin to consider the beginning of the buidling of arks,
Let’s try to remember how we washed up alright before.
We’ve always gotten help when we needed it most,
We’ve always kept each other from drowning,
And we will again.
Wherever the floods take us, we’re lucky.
Lucky to still have each other, when others have drowned.
Lucky to still have a boat, even when it’s only a plank. 

Photo Source
2 thoughts on “Driftwood

  1. JANET HOLSONBACK says:

    ASHLEY
    U R SOO LUCKY TO HAVE SUCH A WONDERFUL MAN THAT SEES THIS AT SUCH A YOUNG AGE…MOST MEN NEVER GET IT AND THEY ARE ALOT OLDER!!! AND I THINK HE IS VERY VERY LUCKY TO HAVE YOU…..YOU TWO ARE A PERFECT PAIR BECAUSE YOU RECONIZE WHAT YOU BOTH HAVE …YOU BOTH ARE SOO FAR ABOVE THE REST….I PRAY YOU BOTH HAVE MANY MORE VALENTINES AND YEARS TOGETHER!!!
    LOVE U ALL!!!

  2. kristy says:

    This is so sweet Ash! I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

