The Red Wheelbarrow

The Red Wheelbarrow by William Carlos Williams

so much depends
upon
a red wheel
barrow
glazed with rain
water
beside the white
chickens.

I know! This is the third post in a row that I’ve mentioned a poem. But I could not stop thinking about this one while we were at my Paw Paw Joe’s house this past week. We visited him on a Tuesday morning, and ended up staying there until Thursday morning due to some car trouble I was having.

It was an unexpected stay. I didn’t have anything aside from Harper’s diaper bag and a few snacks with me when I went, so during our stay, I just had to wash the clothes that we came in and throw them back on for the day – if you’re counting, I wore the same outfit three days in a row. Fortunately, Paw Paw did have a pack and play, so I didn’t have to worry about that. We did run out of diapers, but were able to get some more at a dollar store.

Paw Paw lives out in the country. The Mapquest app on my phone wouldn’t even recognize Belk, Alabama as a place. It kept trying to direct me to Belk (the store) in Birmingham. Since Paw Paw’s house is in the middle of nowhere, cell service was pretty hard to come by while I was there. If I got desperate enough, I could walk out by Paw Paw’s pond and get a signal.

I saw my situation as an opportunity to be still. And simple. It’s not very often that I get stranded at my grandparent’s house, with no possessions and no cell phone service.  It’s not very often that I get forced into a stillness like that. I tried to leave my phone alone, to not check my text messages, or the few social networking sites that I’m apart of…and that was hard. Harder than it should have been, honestly. It left me wondering why I constantly feel the need to be checking in on the virtual world. Something for me to think and pray about. But that’s not the point of this post. The red wheelbarrow is.

Since I was able to put the phone down and be simple for a while, I was able to enjoy some simple, but BEAUTIFUL things. Like the barn in my grandfather’s backyard that was built by his father who I never met, or a white bench under a giant tree, a pretty little bird house or some old broken down farming equipment. And my favorite…my grandfather pushing Harper around in a red wheelbarrow:

I’m so glad we got stranded 🙂

One thought on “The Red Wheelbarrow

  1. Beverly Hutchins says:

    well maybe now you see why your old lady granny does not see the need to be on the computer or on facebook 24/7 like some people do. You really miss out on a lot of beautiful things in your life and also others lives like Paw Paw Joe sharing a day with his great grandson. No message or text can replace those moments.I’m glad your car broke down so you didn’t miss out on that day. I love you.Granny Beverly

Leave a Reply

