It’s finally happening!

When Harper’s pediatrician told me he may walk later because of his huge noggin, I really didn’t think he meant this late. I was thinking he’d probably start between 13 and 14 months. Haha…yeah…right.

Around his first birthday, I googled the normal age range for babies to start walking. It’s 9-18 months, ya’ll! That’s a huge gap! I also asked around to see when folks started walking in my and Benji’s families. Me and my siblings were late walkers. We all ranged between 13 and 16 months. (My sister was the only one who showed signs of walking early. That is until she broke her femur bone a little while before her first birthday and had to be in a full body cast for weeks.) Benji also had an uncle who didn’t walk until 18 months. After hearing this information, I just knew my baby bird was going to wait until the very last minute to start steppin’. Oh, my poor, poor back!

I was close in my guesstimate. He’s now 17 months (one month shy of the normal range) and he just recently started taking steps about a week and a half ago. His first real steps were on March 11th (my grandfather’s birthday). He walked for a golden coin. Yes, my son will walk for money.

He still prefers crawling to walking, but we’re getting there. Hopefully, this time next month, my lower back will begin healing from the past six months of toting 25+ lbs around. Halle-freakin-lujah!

2 thoughts on “It’s finally happening!

  1. Misty says:

    Yay, Harper! Just be prepared for him to be even more into things than when he was crawling!

  2. Katie says:

    AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Look at him go!!!!

Leave a Reply

