Elizabeth Laine Martin

We’re having a baby girl. I still really can’t believe it. I mean…I thought we were having a girl, but thinking it and then learning that it’s true are two different things. We’ve been extremely busy since my appointment on Friday, so I haven’t had much time to sit and really let it sink in. I’ve actually still been calling her “it” at times. Oops.

Immediately after our appointment on Friday, we went and picked up the moving truck. That took forever because Penske mixed everything up. We ended up having to go to their location three different times before everything was settled! When we finally got the truck home, we packed it up, and then left for Alabama the next morning at 4AM. We got to Montgomery right before 5PM on Saturday. And then we unpacked. Holy batman, we were tired! Today is the first day that I’ve actually felt semi-recovered from it all. I figured I’d take the time to talk about baby girl’s name, and the appointment before I forget all the small details.

First things first…her name! It’s kinda complicated. I love family names – LOVE THEM – but I’ve never really been able to come up with anything that I liked for a girl. One night last fall, the name Elizabeth Laine came to me, literally out of nowhere. I was trying to fall asleep, and was thinking about baby names instead of counting sheep. I’m not really sure why I was thinking about names, because I wasn’t pregnant at the time, nor was I planning on getting pregnant anytime soon, but names were on my brain nonetheless. I saw Elizabeth Laine Martin in my head, and immediately fell in love with it.

Elizabeth is my mother’s middle name. My father’s middle name is Lane (my brother and grandfather also share this middle name). Benji and I didn’t really like the spelling of Lane for a girl, so we decided to spell it like my step-dad’s name (Blaine) without the B. So…her name honors three different people that are important to us. It’s so very special ❤

This is the part that people may find a little weird. While I love the name Elizabeth Laine, I still wanted her to have a name of her own. After some thought, we decided to call her by her initials: ELM. Most of you who know me, know that I love trees…so yeah…it’s pretty perfect, in my opinion. Elm. I just love saying it out loud.

So now you know the name.

The appointment itself could not have gone any better. My weight gain and blood pressure were great. Everything looked perfect on the ultrasound. Elm’s heart rate was at 154 and my favorite part: she was measuring right on track, and not ahead. Harper was always ahead of the game in just about every area, and he was a BIG baby! I was really anxious to see what her head size would be, since I’m aiming for a VBAC, and it was normal (Harper was in the 98th percentile at birth). So I left feeling very encouraged. I also found out that I passed my one hour glucose test that I had taken two weeks prior to the appointment. It was an all around great day.

I’m currently 21 weeks pregnant and I’m still feeling pretty good. Within the past week, Elm has become super active. I can now see her moving from the outside – I don’t think that happened with Harper until about 23-24 weeks. It’s all so exciting and I’m just trying to soak every minute of it up. I know how fast 20 weeks can pass!

I didn’t take a picture of the bump this week, so I’ll just share my 20 week picture:

This was taken after a hike to the top of Humpback Rocks in Virginia.

So, that’s it for now. I’m hoping to update more on the move later. Lots of people that I need to thank for helping us out with everything. We are so blessed 🙂

3 thoughts on “Elizabeth Laine Martin

  1. Susanna says:

    LOVE the name! 🙂 Can’t wait to hold sweet Elm in my arms and welcome her to the family!

  2. Karen Tarbell says:

    Blessings, blessings, & more blessings!! I’m so happy for you guys. Hope the unpacking & settling in are going well. We move to Roanoke next week & it’s gonna be a huge undertaking. Love the baby name!!!

  3. Katie says:

    🙂 Can’t wait to meet precious little Elm!!!

Leave a Reply

