Hey! I Love You!

I’m actually posting about my hot, bearded husband today! I’m not sure that I’ve ever had a post JUST for him. I post about Harper all the time, but when it comes to Benji…well, I’d rather spare the world of the mush I have locked up inside my heart for him.

I think it’s kinda gross when people PDA online, so I try my best not to. But today, I’m stepping out of my anti “online PDA” box, and I’m writing about Benji in hopes of making you all gag. I just want to shout from the rooftops how much I love this man!

We were cute, weren’t we?

I actually decided I wanted to blog about Benji last night, but it was so late, I decided to put it off until morning. When I woke up, I noticed the date: 10/18/12. A very special date in my book! Benji asked me to marry him on this day, six years ago. How appropriate!

I’m so happy that he asked, and even happier that I said yes. I wouldn’t have dreamed of saying no, btw. I saw his awesome qualities back then, and I just knew he would one day grow a beard for me. Seriously though. I am SO glad it happened.

Last night, I went to bed fighting back tears of gratitude for the man that was laying next to me. I fell asleep saying silent prayers of thanks for him. That’s not the first time that has happened, either. Over the course of our marriage, I’ve fallen asleep or woken up in the middle of the night several times, with the sudden urge to just tell God thanks for him. He is seriously awesome.

Don’t get me wrong. We are just like any other married couple. We sometimes drive each other nuts. We roll our eyes at one another (he makes fun of me when I do it though, because apparently I do it wrong). We fight over stupid things, and we fight over serious things. He lets me know when I’m nagging, and I let him know when he has put Harper’s diaper (or clothes) on wrong. But at the end of the day, he is seriously the best husband I could’ve ever asked for and I love him to the moon and back!

So this is my post proclaiming it to the world 🙂

I love you, Benji! Thanks for being an awesome husband to me and an amazing dad to our two littles. Thank you for working hard, and for letting me live my dream of being a stay at home mom to our children. Thanks for coming home each day with a smile on your face and for suggesting we take Harper to the park, even though I know you MUST be exhausted from waking up at 5AM and working all day. Thanks for your hugs and kisses, for holding my hand when we walk and for still opening doors for me. Thanks for reading to Harper and praying with him every night. Thanks for your love and support during this pregnancy and for picking up the slack on days that I’m drained and just want to sink into the couch. Thank you for letting me be me in front of you without fear of judgement. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I love you so much, and I’m just thankful for YOU 🙂

Alright. You are all free to go gag now!

2 thoughts on “Hey! I Love You!

  1. Tracey Long says:

    Ashley, I just had to tell you when we came to see y’all for Harpers birthday I thanked Benji for being such a great husband to you & great dad to Harper. I’m so happy to see the love in your family. I love you all. BTW, ppl I think you are an awesome mom & wife. I’m so proud of the woman you have become.

  2. This is perfect and imperfect and wonderful and amazing and all the things I think are so beautiful about you and Benji and the family you are creating! God sure does know what he is doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

