Doing Things Differently, Part II

This post will be less about ME doing things differently, and more about Emrist doing things differently.

You’d think that when having a second (or third, fourth, fifth, etc) baby, that you’d expect him/her to be different from your first child because well…they have a whole new set of genes, right? For some reason, I didn’t think like that when Emrist was coming. I had it in my head that she was going to be more like Harper than she would be different. I expected the same hellish first few weeks, the same sleep issues, reflux problems, the same personality, etc. I even expected her to look like him. I don’t really know why. It seems stupid now because….hello! She is her own person. I guess it’s just hard to imagine what you haven’t already experienced? Who knows. But Em is completely different from her big brother.

People have told me not to compare them to each other, but I don’t see why I shouldn’t. And is it even possible not to? Is there a mother out there who sees one child do something and doesn’t immediately think back to how that same event took place in the life of their sibling? I honestly compare Harper and Emrist all the time. Not in a “I wish he or she was different” kind of way, of course. I just enjoy thinking back to how things happened with Harper and how they are happening now. It’s interesting to me. So that’s really what this blog post is about. The differences.

163523_10151583857391772_1810932329_n

While pregnant with Em, I heard from several people to expect her to be worse than Harper was. The second child is always harder, y’all! Especially when your first is really laid back and easy. At least, this is what most people were telling me. Unfortunately, I bought into it and spent most of my pregnancy afraid of her. My first few weeks with Harper were the hardest thing I had ever been through, and this little girl was going to be worse?! Holy crap! How would ever survive it?

And then she came, and she was a breeze. I didn’t have to hold her while she was sleeping like I had to do with Harper. I could put her down and she actually stayed asleep. What? We never had to swaddle her. Not once. Harper was swaddled until about five months because his arms flew all over the place, waking him up constantly. In the beginning, Emrist only woke up two times a night, compared to Harper, who woke up countless times. As a newborn, Emrist only had one crying fit where nothing comforted her. Harper had several of those.

She smiled later than Harper did, ate less than he did as a newborn and weighs less than he did at this age. She still has the same glorious, chunky thighs though 🙂 She’s way more active than he ever was at this age. Harper didn’t start crawling until his first birthday, and didn’t walk until 17 months. Emrist just turned five months and is already trying to crawl. She flipped over for the first time when she was only two months old.  She can now flip over both ways, and can scoot a little if she gets mad enough.

Some people tell me that she’s so active because she’s a girl, but I really think it’s just the differences in their personalities. Once we got past the first three months with Harper, he was always super chill and content. He was happy to just sit in front of a window for 45 minutes and watch the trees blowing in the breeze. Even to this day, we can make a 12 hour drive without him making a peep, and we don’t even own a DVD player for the car. He is a rare toddler, indeed. He’s just a content little soul, and always has been.

Emrist is happy. She’s the happiest baby I’ve ever met, actually. But she still wants to go and do. You can see it in her eyes. She wants to do what everyone else is doing. I honestly think she’s going to be a handful once she is mobile. She reminds me of myself as a child and I think she’ll be into everything! I guess we shall see.

Emrist is touchy-feely. Harper wasn’t when he was her age, but he is now. She loves faces…A LOT. Seeing someone will calm her down from almost anything…even if she’s upset because of hunger. Harper needed naps in order to be happy and still does! I remember he would get grumpy right on the dot at nap time. He wouldn’t be happy until you put him in his crib. Emrist on the other hand can go without a nap and be just fine. When she does take naps, she sleeps longer than he did at this point. She usually takes three naps a day. Two 45 minute naps and then one 3-4 hour nap. Harper would only sleep for 45 minutes at a time by this point.

So there are some of their differences. I’m sure I’m leaving a few out, but you get the point.

They also have a few similarities, of course! They are both comedians, and love to smile and laugh. They are morning people and wake up in a good mood. They both love people…even strangers. They both have gigantic heads (we call it the Waldrop jug in my family). And they both just seem to be gentle/kind individuals.

They both stopped taking to paci and started sucking their thumbs. Emrist just really started doing this, and I love it. And lastly, they both have “babies”. Harper’s is his bunny, and it’s looking like Emrist has attached to a blanket that a friend bought for her.

No matter what I do, she has to sleep like this now:

photo-1

With the blanket over her face. And yes, it is scary!

It’s a really thin and breathable blanket, but I still freak out when I see her do this lol. And when I try to fix it, she just puts it back. Silly girl. Something about this picture reminds me of a sleepy teenager.

So that’s that. Two different individuals with completely different likes, dislikes, needs and wants. Imagine that! 😉

Leave a Reply

