Three Years

I guess this post is better late than never!

1391949_10151938770461772_460458893_n

Baby bird is now three years old.

I feel like a broken record when I say I can’t believe we’re here. Three years with Harp. How? It truly feels like we just brought him home yesterday.

I imagine I’ll be saying this for years to come (I hope so anyways). How, how, how? I don’t know that I’ll ever see him as anything other than my little baby. Even now. We have conversations. He sometimes gets an attitude and talks back to us. He tells us what he is thinking, feeling, etc. He is gentle, kind, and makes us laugh constantly. But sometimes when he is talking to me, I have to catch my breath because it feels so weird. My little man is…talking to me? What on earth? Wasn’t he just babbling at me? And before that, wasn’t he just screaming at me because he wanted a bottle?

Now, three years later, he fills our days with hilariousness, joy and love. He talks of jumping into the clouds and eating them and about how the moon and stars are friends. He tells us when he thinks someone or something is cute. He tells us when he is happy, sad, or scared. He obsesses over helicopters, motors, and propellors. He loves to watch air conditioning units and fans.  He is just so grown up.

And yet, late at night, when I sneak into his room to kiss him goodnight, I can still see my baby lying there. Maybe it’s the long lashes resting on his cheeks, or the tight hold he has on his bunny, but I can see him almost as if he hasn’t changed at all.

I don’t think I’ll ever get over baby bird, and I hope I can always catch glimpses of him, no matter how old he gets ❤

Moving along.

To celebrate his birthday, we had a party at one of his favorite parks. We had friends and family come all the way from Birmingham, Fayette, and Tuscaloosa. I feel truly blessed to have people willing to drive so far to celebrate our son.  We had SO much fun on his birthday. It fell on the weekend this year, so we were able to have the party on his actual birthday.

On Saturday morning, Harp woke up to a flood of balloons. The night before, Benji and I blew up a ton of them and placed them outside of his door for him to walk into. I think we were just as excited about his birthday as he was. This was the first year he really understood what was going on, so the anticipation was high for all of us. Here’s a picture the balloon craziness:

733908_10151941476041772_1797391526_n

The look on his face when he saw it was priceless. I videoed it, but I’m too lazy to upload it at the moment. In a nutshell, he walked out, smiled, and started kicking them, and immediately asked for cake. We died laughing. Emrist enjoyed the balloons too!

The party wasn’t until the afternoon so we spent all day preparing and just enjoying our time together. My family arrived at around noon, so we also got to spend some time with them which was very nice. Once the party arrived, Harper was in heaven. Candy, cake, pizza, presents, and LOTS of helicopters. The hardest part was getting him to let go of one present so that he could open the next. He was pretty smitten with the first gift, and had a hard time opening the rest haha.

Overall, it was a wonderful day that left me feeling exhausted and so loved.

photo-9

Blowing out the candles.

photo-1.PNG

Helicopter favors.

774791_10151943571271772_1519552241_o

Family photo.

And that’s it. The rest of the party pictures are on my camera 🙂

Here are some pictures I’ve taken since arriving at three:

1441349_10151966441556772_1959745598_n

Little buddy loves his sister.

photo 2-2

He got a zoo membership for his birthday, so we have been going a lot! He loves it!

photo-10

He also loves to swing.

photo 1-2

And finally, a random banana picture because my goodness, this boy blows through some fruit.

The end ❤

2 thoughts on “Three Years

  1. Frankie Elwell says:

    love the pictures. Wish I could see him.

  2. Katie says:

    This is so sweet! And so well-written! It’s hard to believe he is such a big boy with thoughts and feelings and the ability to express them!

Leave a Reply

