Theodora Paxton

FullSizeRender (5)

Yesterday we found out that we are having another girl! THREE daughters, y’all. Harper had told me the day before that he would be happy if it was another girl, but that he’d still complain because that would mean “the girls win!” As you can see from the picture, he didn’t complain one bit. I love the look of delight on his face. Such a sweetheart!

Theodora Paxton. We picked the name out weeks ago. We actually even had the same name for boy (Theodore). This was probably the easiest time we’ve had picking out a baby name. I remember driving one day and I heard the name Theodore. I decided to look it up when I got home and found that it meant “divine gift”. Well…if that’s not appropriate for this impossible baby, then I don’t know what is! I talked to Benji about it, and surprisingly he was on board. I say “surprisingly” because we usually disagree on all the namez. Haha!

He was reading a book he liked at the time, and told me he wanted to use the main character’s name for the middle name. Paxton. I thought it was cute and so it was decided: Theodore or Theodora Paxton. I didn’t even look up the meaning of Paxton until a few days later. It was then that I discovered we had unintentionally named our baby “divine gift of peace”. I believe with every fiber of my being that this child will indeed be a divine gift of peace. I cannot wait to meet her!

All of our kids have nicknames, and this little jewel will be no different. We are going to call her Theo, after my great grandmother.

IMG_9929

She was a strong, but gentle woman. Sweet, caring, and kind. She loved children. She loved everybody, really. She was an amazing quilt maker and cook. My favorite thing about her was her ability to stop and take the time to teach you something. She never viewed you as an annoyance. If you wanted to learn something from her, she would teach you, and she would do so with patience. She taught me how to cook and sew. She was such a strong presence in my childhood. She and my great grandfather, Frank, were the rock of our family. Their marriage was decades-long, and so solid. They were lifelong partners and had four children together. They were in love until the day they died. And I mean that. They were IN LOVE. They served each other, spoke to each other with kindness, and smooched  ❤

1918083_187992371771_2082361_n

38798_456937255476_6183264_n

40491_461091530476_3285202_n

#RelationshipGoalz

Mamaw Theo had so many qualities that I want my children to possess. Harper, our first, shares her birthday. And I love that our last will share her name. I hope this means she’ll inherit those quilt-making skills and make me some beauties to keep me warm in about 20 years 🙂

Leave a Reply

